May Sinclair was an incredibly prolific writer, and as well as the books listed below she wrote pamphlets, reviews, essays, sketches, stories, individual poems and introductions to other peoples’ books. This bibliography lists only the first editions of May Sinclair’s books: novels, short story collections, poetry volumes and non-fiction. For a full bibliography, including individual stories, poems, articles, reprints and serialisation, see Suzanne Raitt, May Sinclair: A Modern Victorian (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 2000), pp. 271-8.


Audrey Craven (London: Blackwood, 1897); (New York: Henry Holt, 1906)

Mr and Mrs Nevill Tyson (London: Blackwood, 1898); (New York: Grossett and Dunlap, 1906)

The Divine Fire (London: Constable, 1904); (New York: Holt, 1904)

Superseded (New York: Holt, 1906)

The Helpmate (London: Constable, 1907); (New York: Holt, 1907)

The Judgement of Eve First published in Everybody’s Magazine 17 (September 1907); First book edition (New York and London: Harper, 1908)

Kitty Tailleur (London: Constable, 1908); (New York: Doubleday, Page & Co., 1908)

The Creators: A Comedy (London: Constable, 1910); (New York: Century, 1910)

The Combined Maze (London: Hutchinson, 1913); (New York: Macmillan, 1913)

The Three Sisters (London: Hutchinson, 1914); (New York: Macmillan, 1914)

Tasker Jevons: The Real Story (London: Hutchinson, 1916); as The Belfry (New York: Macmillan, 1916)

The Tree of Heaven (London: Cassell, 1917); (New York: Macmillan, 1917)

Mary Olivier: A Life (London: Cassell, 1919); (New York: Macmillan, 1919)

The Romantic (London: Collins, 1920); (New York: Macmillan, 1920)

Mr Waddington of Wyck (London: Cassell, 1921); (New York: Macmillan, 1921)

Life and Death of Harriett Frean (London: Collins, 1922); (New York: Macmillan, 1922)

Anne Severn and the Fieldings (London: Hutchinson, 1922); (New York: Macmillan, 1922)

A Cure of Souls (London: Hutchinson, 1924); (New York: Macmillan, 1924)

Arnold Waterlow: A Life (London: Hutchinson, 1924); (New York: Macmillan, 1924)

The Rector of Wyck (London: Hutchinson, 1925); (New York: Macmillan, 1925)

Far End (London: Hutchinson, 1926); (New York: Macmillan, 1926)

The Allinghams (London: Hutchinson, 1927); (New York: Macmillan, 1927)

History of Anthony Waring (London: Hutchinson, 1927); (New York: Macmillan, 1927)

Short Story Collections

Two Sides of a Question (London: Constable, 1901); (New York: J.F. Taylor, 1901)

The Return of the Prodigal (New York: Macmillan, 1914)

The Judgement of Eve and Other Stories (London: Hutchinson, 1914)

Uncanny Stories (London: Hutchinson, 1923); (New York: Macmillan, 1923)

Tales Told by Simpson (London: Hutchinson, 1930); (New York: Macmillan, 1930)

The Intercessor and Other Stories (London: Hutchinson, 1931); (New York: Macmillan, 1932)


Nakiketas and Other Poems [pseud. Julian Sinclair] (London: Kegan Paul, Trench & Co., 1886)

Essays in Verse (London: Kegan Paul, Trench Trübner & Co., 1892)

The Dark Night (London: Jonathan Cape, 1924)


A Defence of Idealism: Some Questions and Conclusions (London and New York: Macmillan, 1917)

The New Idealism (London and New York: Macmillan, 1922)

Other Non-Fiction

The Three Brontës (London: Hutchinson, 1912); (Boston and New York: Houghton Mifflin, 1912)

A Journal of Impressions in Belgium (London: Hutchinson, 1915); (New York: Macmillan, 1915)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s